Build a mobile app and win BFCM 2019

x
Menu Close

How to cancel Shopify

For a Shopify account owner, two options are available – pause your store temporarily or close your store completely at any time.

However, you will need to contact any third party service providers that your store uses to ensure their services get cancelled correctly and you are not billed for the same.

While pausing or closing your store, if you have any pending charges on your account, you will receive a final invoice from Shopify with these fees. If you do not have any pending charges, you will not receive an invoice.

 

Pause your Shopify store :

Pausing your store keeps it running while disabling checkout. Thus, customers can browse through your website and products but cannot purchase anything.

You can also continue to make changes to your store such as adding or editing products.

Once you’re ready to start selling again, you can unpause your store again at any time by choosing a new Shopify pricing plan.

 

Steps to pause your Shopify store :

  • Login to your Shopify admin panel as the account owner
  • Click on Settings – Account
  • In the Store status section, you will find the option to “PAUSE YOUR STORE”
  • Click on Pause Store
  • You will see a dialog box which explains what will happen once you pause your store.
  • Confirm by clicking on Pause store
  • Your store will now be paused and you’ll be charged a reduced price. Once you are ready to start selling again, you can unpause your store.

 

Close your Shopify store :

You can close your online store completely at any time. When you do so, you will not have access to your Shopify admin. You will be able to login, but will need to activate your store in order to edit products or make any other changes.

 

Steps to close your Shopify store :

  • Login to your Shopify admin panel as the account owner
  • Click on Settings – Account
  • In the Store status section, you will find the option to “CLOSE YOUR STORE”
  • Click on Close store
  • Enter your password
  • On this page, you can contact Shopify to see if they can help you in any way. If you want to proceed with closing the store, select a reason from the drop-down menu and click Close my store

 

Pro-Tips :

  • Cancel any third-party apps before pausing or closing your store to ensure you do not keep getting charged for them
  • Shopify will save your store for 30 days after you close it and your data and configurations will be preserved, in case you change your mind!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *